lundi 18 juillet 2016

Armageddon - Armageddon (1970 Germany Great Heavy Psychedelic Rock - Flac)

Not to be confused with the UK outfit, this German release from 1970 is an absolute belter of an album. Hard rock with definite progressive and psychedelic edges, the guitar of Frank Diez drives this one all the way.
Why didn't this group record more than just one album? Their self-titled album is a heavy progressive masterpiece with excellent, Hendrix-influenced guitar work and vocals by Frank Diez. Armaggedon was the start of his long and impressive career. Their album had six tracks, and two of them were cover versions. Most impressive was the 10-minute version of Jeff Beck Group's "Rice Pudding". This track had some of the greatest heavy guitar riffing to appear on a German record. Their version of Spooky Tooth's "Better By You, Better Than Me" was also competent enough. In addition, both Frank Diez and Manfred Galatik (electric piano, bass and vocals) wrote great songs, as typified by the tracks "People Talking" and "Open". Michael Nürmberg (bass, rhythm guitar) and Jurgen Lorenzen (drums) provided a strong backing. Armaggedon's album has rocketed in price during recent years, due to the ever increasing interest. However, demand for the group was poor way back in 1970, and Armaggedon soon broke up. Diez never played material with a similar energy again, his next step was to join the 'slightly-above-average' jazz-rockers Emergency.  He later played with Randy Pie, Karthago, Ihre Kinder and Atlantis.  Luckily the Armaggedon album was released on CD in 1991 with a sharp and clean digitally remastered sound (in a limited edition of 1,000 numbered copies). 

01- Round (4:12) 
02- Open (7:31)
03- Oh Man (6:01)
04- Rice Pudding (9:40)
05- People Talking (5:02)
06- Better By You, Better Than Me (4:36) 
    Frank Diez - Lead Guitar, Vocals
    Manfred Galatik - Keyboards, Bass, Vocals
    Michael Nürmberg - Bass, Rhythm Guitar
    Jürgen Lorenzen - Drums

    Fleetwood Mac - The Roundhouse London - UK - April 24th 1970 - Fantastic Sound (Flac)

    April 24, 1970 — In early April, when Fleetwood Mac returned to London after an emotional European tour, Peter Green, devastated by drugs, suddenly announced he would be leaving the group in late May. Clifford Davis, the band’s manager, reluctantly began cancelling an upcoming British tour set to begin the following month. Relationships in the stunned band were strained, but the Mac still had to complete recording “The Green Manalishi (With the Two-Prong Crown)”, Peter’s final studio effort with them, as well as a B-side for the single. To underscore the troubled band relationships, Jeremy Spencer opted out of these sessions to work on his own album.
    Despite the high tension, the recording sessions at De Lane Lea Studios in London, driven by the intense music, still had their moments. Mick set up his new gong, surrounded by six microphones and miles of cables, in the underground car park below the studio. When Mick banged his gong, that car park vibrated like a giant bell with an eerie ringing that reverberated off the walls. Talk about an echo! Another night, Carlos Santana showed up, and it didn’t take long for a lengthy jam session to start. In the past, Peter often hit upon brilliant melodic ideas in the midst of jams like these, and on this night, he was showing Santana some pretty impressive licks. At some point, Peter had introduced Santana to “Black Magic Woman”, the hit that Carlos would record shortly thereafter for his own band’s second album. Throughout the sessions, Clifford did his best to convince Peter to stay, but Greenie steadfastly maintained his intention to leave, seemingly happier now that his decision was public.

    Eric Clapton & Stan Webb's Chicken Shack - Post Cricket Jam - Finchley Cricket Club - August 14th 1987 (Wave)

    01) Every Day I Have the Blues
    02) The Thrill Is Gone
    03) Rich Man's Blues
    04) Cocaine
    05) Sweet Sixteen
    06) I'd Rather Go Blind
    07) Going Up, Going Down
    08) Long Distance Call
    09) Further On Up the Road
    10) I'm Tore Down

    Excellent concert with two Masters of the "British Blues Boom"
    Enjoy !!!


    David Crosby - If I Could Only Remenber My Name The Alternate Album Late 1970

    Mike Bloomfield All Stars Featuring John Cipollina - Prisoner's Benefit, Old Waldorf - San Francisco - April 20th 1977 (Flac)

    1. I Don't Want No Wife
    2. Movin'
    3. You Send Me
    4. Feel So Bad
    5. Mr. Pitiful
    6. Tell It Like it Is
    7. When I Was a Cowboy
    8. Women Lovin' Each Other
    9. Try It Before You Buy It
    10. Too Much Monkey Business
    Mike Bloomfield - guitar, vocals & piano
    John Cipollina - guitar
    Mark Naftalin - piano
    Roger Troy - bass, vocals
    Robert Jones - drums, vocals
    Bloomfield & Cipollina playing together !!!!
    Enjoy !!!