lundi 13 avril 2015

White Lightning - Strikes Twice (1968-1969 Raw Us Psychedelic Rock - Flac)

Hard fuzz trio featuring the blazing leads of Zippy Caplan (ex-Litter). The band was less garagy and more pounding hardrock than the Litter. "Under the Screaming Double Eagle" collects studio tracks from 1969. White Lightning was a slang term for LSD at the time (and bootleg whiskey prior to that). The group added two new members and shortened their name to Lightning. They continued in the hardrock mode but now with dual leads. "Lightning" is another excellent effort, just missing the certain magic they possessed as a power trio.

"White Lightning" was formed in Minneapolis, Minnesota in 1968 by ex-"Litter" guitarist "Zippy" Caplan and bassist Woody Woodrich.  The two musicians had been jamming together for close to a year before they decided to become a group. 

The name "White Lightning" was picked by "Zip" Caplan and Woody Woodrich during their drive back from the "Litter's" filming of "Medium Cool" because it was another name for acid.

"White Lightning's" original drummer, Garr Johnson, quit the group after only a months rehearsals because he didn't believe a three-piece act could make it in Minneapolis.  Mick Stanhope was immediately brought in from Chicago by Ronn Roberts to fill the empty drummer's chair.

01. Prelude to Opus Iv   
02. [Under the Screaming Double]   
03. Born Too Rich   
04. Coming Down   
05. Borrowed and Blue   
06. Bogged Down   
07. Let Me Feel It Too   
08. Only Love    
09. Age [Version 1]    
10. Fantasy Days [Version 1]   
11. No Time for Love
12. William Tell 
13. Prelude to Opus Iv [Ver 2] 
14. Freedom 
15. Groundhog 
16. 1930 
17. Just Let the World Roll on B 
18. Before My Time
19. Age [Version 2]
20. Fantasy Days [Version 2] 


Bachman-Turner Overdrive - FM Broadcast - Agora - Cleveland Ohio - Early 1974 (Flac)

BTO recorded live at the Agora in Cleveland between the 2nd and 3rd LP's.  "Not Fragile" was released in August of '74 and considering that all songs come from the first 2 releases this would lead one to believe early 1974 is the ballpark date.

01 Don't Get Yourself In Trouble > Little Gandy Dancer
02 Give It Time
03 Welcome Home
04 Hold Back The Water
05 Blue Collar
06 Give Me Your Money Please
07 Let It Ride
08 American Woman
09 Honky Tonk Woman

Randy Bachman - Lead Guitar & Vocals
Blair Thornton - Lead Guitar & Backing Vocals
C.F Turner - Bass Guitar & Vocals
Rob Bachman - Drums & Percussion

Larry Coryell - The Real Great Escape (1973 us great rock-jazz - vinyl rip - wave)

Ive been a fan of Larry Coryell since his LADY CORYELL release. This early seventies 'return to rock' album was met with little acclaim, but it is one of the most inspired guitar records of the 1970's. Larry plays things on Jimmy Webb's two compositions that rank with the finest playing by any electric guitarist ever. What sets this apart from other jazz guitar records (even his own), is that THE REAL GREAT ESCAPE sounds like an artist who has found his voice(literally and figuratively) and his youthful spirit. I really wish he would 'mine' more great songs in this way today. As great as he is, I cant help thinking he needs to mix it up more, like he did on this release...Afterall, he wrote the book.(By jaybo)

01. The Real Great Escape (7:37) 
02. Are You Too Clever (5:31) 
03. Love Life's Offering (3:27)
04. Makes Me Wanna Shout (5:25) 
05. All My Love's Laughter (4:27) 
06. Scotland II (5:05) 
07. P.F. Sloan (4:03) 

Larry Coryell : Guitar ARP Synthesizer & Vocals
Mike Mandel : Piano, ARP Synthesizer
Mervin Bronson : Bass
Harry Wilkenson : Drums
Steve Marcus : Tenor & Soprano Sax