dimanche 29 avril 2012

Roky Erickson - Don't Slander Me (1986- great us rock with powerful vocals & guitars - Wave)

Roky (pronounce rock-eeh) Erickson was founding member and lead singer of psychedelic band, Texas’ infamous Thirteenth Floor Elevators. Erickson explored the far reaches of musical and personal extremes. Young musicians like Jerry Garcia, Grace Slick, and Janis Joplin jammed with the influential group. Following a nightmarish '70s mental-hospital stint that had a devastating long-term effect on his mental health, Erickson's subsequent solo work with his group The Aliens revealed a singularly brilliant songwriter and performer whose talent was no less impressive for the fact that he was singing about zombies, vampires and aliens. The demons that abound in Roky's songs are all-too-real reflections of his own troubled psyche, and the combination of the artist's oddly poetic lyrical constructions and his bracing banshee wail makes it clear, as it wasn't always, that he's not kidding! Don’t Slander Me and Gremlins Have Pictures, recorded 1975 -1982, document Roky’s genius.

A truly incredible record!.. powerful lyrics that present as genuine and painfully honest.. A true poet. Roky has an amazing pop sensibility reflected on this release. Almost as if he were channeling Buddy Holly while on a drug induced bender. A dark and powerful pop album.. Roky pulls no punches with these tracks. His unfortunate history of mental illness seems to eliminate any pretense from these recordings.. great vocals,catchy hooks,fantastic musician!.. The creator of psychedelic rock.. a true original and pioneer.(By Junk Rocker)

Tracks List
01- Don't Slander Me
02- Haunt
03- Crazy Crazy Mama
04- Nothing In Return
05- Burn The Flames
06- Bermuda
07- You Drive Me Crazy
08- Can't Be Brought Down
09- Starry Eyes
10- The Damn Thing
11- Hasn't Anyone Told You
12- Realize You're Mine
13- Haunt (Alternate Take)

Roky Erickson - Lead Vocals, Guitar
Duane Aslaksen - Guitar, Vocals 
Billy Miller - Electric Autoharp
Jack Casady - Bass
Paul Zahl - Drums
André Lewis - Keyboards
Mike Hinton - Guitar 01 & 03
Martin Fierro - Tenor Sax 02
Bill Burgess - Guitar 06
Jeff Sutton - Drums 08 
John Whitelaw - Bass 09

Here (New links fixed)