mardi 18 septembre 2012

Stepson - Stepson (Great Us Heavy Detroit Styled Blues-Rock - Flac)

An excellent hard/blues album, with Jeff Simmons on one track. Most of the songs were written by the group and the vocals and guitar parts are especially interesting (Rude Attitude, I Apologize, Burnin' Hurt). Arthur Lee of Love and Chris Hillman od The Byrds get "special thanks" on the cover. 
Hawks, Newman and Gallucci had all previously been in Don and the Goodtimes and later with Hauser in Touch.
After the demise of TOUCH, 3 (of the 5) members went on and resurfaced in 1974 with this hard drivin' slab of attitude, swagger, fuzz and hammond. Jeff Simmons appears on one of the tracks and a heavy Detroit-vibe hangs in the air throughout.

Jeff Hawks : Lead Vocals 
Joey Newman : Guitar, Vocals 
Bruce Hauser : Bass, Vocals
Len Fagan : Drums 
Don Gallucci : Piano 
Jimmy Greenspoon : Organ  
Jeff Simmons : Harp 
Tracks List
01. Rule In The Book - 3.20
02. Lil´ Bit - 3.59
03. Rude Attitude - 3.26
04. It´s My Life - 3.03
05. I Apologize - 5.34
06. Suffer - 4.45
07. Back To Bama - 2.35
08. Man, I´m A Fool - 4.34
09. Turnpike - 2.42
10. Burnin´ Hurt - 4.36

Southern Cross - Southern Cross (1976 australian hard & heavy rock with ex-Buffalo members - Wave)

Southern Cross was an Austalian heavy rock band formed by ex-Buffalo members Alan Milano and John Baxter. 
Milano was co-vocalist on Dead Forever while John Baxter was responsible for Buffalo's heavy rock guitar sound. By the time this recording came about Baxter had left to be replaced by Bruce Cumming.
Alongside the likes of Finch, The Angels, Kevin Borich Express, Rose Tattoo, and Chariot, Southern Cross swiftly became one of the most popular hard rock bands on the Sydney scene. 
They were signed to the independent Living Sound/Laser label where they issued their debut single towards the end of 1976, followed by their self-titled debut album in early 1977. 
The album features melodic, raunchy hard rock in the vein of Billy Thorpe and the Aztecs and UK band Bad Company. It mixed flat out riff-rockers with moody rock ballads. 
The album scored only minimal sales, despite its strong content and by 1978 they had broken up with Cumming and Brouet moving on to The Press, another Sydney based band with a punk edged heavy metal sound.
Southern Cross - You Need It:

Tracks listing:
01. Money Maker (04':31")
02. You Need It (05':10")
03. Jessie (05':12")
04. What Am I Waiting For? (05':19")
05. Harris Street (04':42")
06. Story Teller (05':12")
07. Games (08':58")
08. Stormy Lady (04':51")

Southern Cross:
*Bruce Cumming - guitars
*Jeff Beacham - drums
*Michel Brouet - bass, vocals
*Alan Milano - vocals

Rip and Scans by NELWIZARD