vendredi 25 janvier 2013

Copperhead - Copperhead (1973 us great west coast rock - 2001 remaster - wave)

When John Cipollina left Quicksilver Messenger Service in 1971, he formed Copperhead with Jim Murray and Casey Sonoban (two members of the first Quicksilver line-up), his brother Mario (who later found fame with Huey Lewis and The News) and various other musicians. Their frequent rehearsals and gigs didn't allow them to get a recording contract and in 1972 Cipollina assembled a new line-up with Gary Philippet (ex Front Line), Jim McPherson (ex Stained Glass), David Weber and Hutch Hutchinson. A record, Sealed For Your Protection, was ready to be released on Just Sunshine Record but was eventually shelved. Finally Copperhead was issued by CBS in 1973 and is a superb example of San Francisco Sound, with seven original tracks and a new version of Kibitzer, already recorded by McPherson with Stained Glass. A must for fans of Quicksilver and Cipollina's guitar.
After Copperhead, Cipollina, Weber, McPherson and Hutchinson joined Terry and The Pirates and played with various local groups. Hutch Hutchinson became a renowned bass session player and is still active in the studios.(Stephane Rebeschini)

01. Roller Derby Star 4:16
02. Kibitzer 3:46
03. A Little Hand 5:01
04. Kamikaze 5:26
05. Spin-Spin 3:18
06. Pawnshop Man 5:30
07. Wing-Dang-Doo 4:06
08. They're Making A Monster 7:36
09. Chameleon 3:40

John Cipollina - Lead & Hawaian Guitars
Hutch Hutchinson - Vocals, Bass
Jim McPherson - Vocals, Piano, Bass, Percussion
Gary Philippet - Vocals, Guitar, Organ
David Weber - Drums