vendredi 15 juin 2012

Juicy Lucy - Juicy Lucy (1969 great uk rock with outstanding guitars & vocals - Wave)

Steel guitarist, Glenn Fernando Campbell, was the star behind this band. He'd joined them from The Misunderstood. Their vinyl zenith is usually considered to be their first album which contained a number of tight, well constructed songs, including a fine cover of Bo Diddley's Who Do You Love?, which also took them into the 45 Charts. It came on the now highly collectable spiral Vertigo label in an attractive gatefold sleeve. Sadly it was downhill thereafter, their fortunes were hardly helped by several personnel changes. Paul Williams, ex-Zoot Money, came in on vocals, replacing Roy Owen on the second album, but the result was a disappointment. None of the original line-up survived for their fourth and final effort, Pieces. The line-up for this included Andy Pyle, whilst he took a brief break from Savoy Brown. The final verdict must be that they failed to achieve their early promise.

Saucy blues-rockers Juicy Lucy formed in 1969 from the ashes of cult-favorite garage band the Misunderstood, reuniting vocalist Ray Owen, steel guitarist Glenn "Ross" Campbell and keyboardist Chris Mercer; with the additions of guitarist Neil Hubbard, bassist Keith Ellis and drummer Pete Dobson, the group immediately notched a UK Top 20 hit with their reading of the Bo Diddley perennial "Who Do You Love," with their self-titled debut LP falling just shy of the Top 40. Ex-Zoot Money singer Paul Williams, guitarist Mick Moody and drummer Rod Coombes replaced Owen (who exited for a solo career), Hubbard and Dobson for 1970's Lie Back and Enjoy It, with bassist Jim Leverton assuming Ellis' duties for the follow-up, 1971's Get a Whiff a This. The constant turnover clearly took its toll on the group both creatively and commercially, with co-founders Campbell and Mercer both exiting prior to the fourth Juicy Lucy album, 1972's Pieces, which was recorded by a makeshift lineup of Williams, Moody, keyboardist Jean Roussel and the former Blodwyn Pig rhythm section of bassist Andy Pyle and drummer Ron Berg. Juicy Lucy finally disbanded shortly thereafter. 

01. Mississippi Woman - 3.48
02. Who Do You Love - 3.03
03. She´s Mine, She´s Yours - 5.46
04. Just One Time - 4.40
05. Chicago North-Western - 4.04
06. Train - 5.53
07. Nadine - 2.49
08. Are You Satisfied - 6.18
09. Walking Down The Highway (Bonus) - 4.49

Glenn "Ross" Campbell - Steel Guitar, Mandolin, Marimbas, Vocals
Ray Owens - Lead Vocals
Chris Mercer - Saxophone, Piano, Organ
Neil Hubbard - Acoustic & Electric Guitars
Keith Ellis - Bass Guitar & Vocals
Pete Dobson - Drums & Percussion
Remy & Lofty - Miscellaneous Percussion