vendredi 22 février 2013

Kevin Ayers - The Confessions Of Dr. Dream And Other Stories (uk 1974 - 2009 reissue with bonus tracks - wave)

Kevin Ayers' fifth album, The Confessions of Doctor Dream and Other Stories, is typical of his work. He sings in his distinctive deep voice with his cultured English accent (sounding a lot like John Cale) in songs set in a variety of pop styles, from hard rock to a kind of music hall approach. He is frequently playful and engaging, although his songs don't ultimately add up to much. The album's second side contains an 18-minute suite called "The Confessions of Doctor Dream," featuring a cameo by Nico, which exemplifies Ayers' amiable if unfocused appeal. ~ William Ruhlmann, All Music Guide

01. Day By Day -  3:50
02. See You Later - 4:40
03. Don't Feel Lonely Till I Thought Of You - 3:05
04. Everybody's Sometime And Some People's All The Time Blues - 5:09
05. It Begins With A Blessing / Once I Awakened / But It Ends With A Curse - 3:08
06. Ballbearing Blues -  0:56
  The Confessions Of Dr. Dream
07. a. Irreversible Neural Damage -  4:41
08. b. Invitation  - 1:12
09. c. The One Chance Dance  -  7:40
10. d. Dr. Dream Theme  - 5:19
11. Two Goes Into Four - 1:39
12. Another Whimsical Song  - 0:24
13. The Lady Rachel -  3:53
14. Stop this Train - 6:14
15. Didn't Feel Lonely 'til I Thought of You -  4:36
    * Tracks 12-15 are recorded 7 July 1974 at the BBC's Maida Vale studios
16. The Up Song  (non-LP single A side)  - 3:18
17. After the Show  (non-LP single A side) - 2:37
18. Thank You Very Much  (B side of the single 'After the Show') - 3:01

Kevin Ayers - Guitar, Vocals
Mark Warner - Guitar
Cal Batchelor - Guitar
Rupert Hine - Keyboards, Producer
Mike Moran - Piano
Steve Nye - Organ
John Perry - Bass
John Gustafson - Bass
Michael Giles - Drums
Mike Oldfield - Guitar
Nico - Vocals on "Irreversible Neural Damage"
Geoff Richardson - Viola
Mike Ratledge - Organ
Ray Cooper - Percussion
Lol Coxhill - Alto Saxophone
Henry Crallan - Piano
Ollie Halsall - Guitar
Rosetta Hightower - Vocals
Hulloo Choir - Vocals
Trevor Jones - Bass
Sean Milligan - Vocals
Sam Mitchell - Guitar
Doris Troy - Vocals
Joanne Williams - Vocals
The G'Deevy Ensemble - Percussion

7 commentaires:

DanP a dit…

Many thanks, this is a K.A. I don't have. Here is the obit for him:

John Knox a dit…

I didn't feel lonely till I thought of you...Day by Day..Night by Night.

John Knox a dit…

A sad occasion as Kevin brought me a lot of joy growing up. Perhaps not the greatest but he was alwys an alternative and a drag away from featureless names that all your friends were listening to. I imagine its difficult getting older for some. Artistic license is a hard place. When it expires it is somehow impossible to renew in a lost and distant youth. May God give you a rightful place. Amen and Glory.

Tarzan a dit…

Hi - Sorry i'm late for this one, is it possible having a new link, Thanks by advance

Kissyouall a dit…

Link dead.... please one other working link. Thanks

Tarzan a dit…

Thank you

runhill a dit…


Is it still possible to create a new link to Kevin Ayers - The Confessions Of Dr. Dream And Other Stories (uk 1974 - 2009 reissue with bonus tracks - wave) ? Would be great!