Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Tear Gas - Tear Gas (1971 outstanding uk hard rock - Flac)

Originally known as Mustard. Their first vocalist Andy Mulvey had previously been with The Poets. However, he was soon replaced by David Batchelor and around the same time Gilson Lavis (their original drummer, who later played with Squeeze) was replaced by Richard Monro from Ritchie Blackmore's Mandrake Root. This line-up recorded Piggy Go Getter, which made little impact. In 1970 Hugh McKenna took over Batchelor's vocal role and Ted McKenna (ex-Dream Police) relieved Monro on drums. They recorded a second album and tried to establish themselves on the underground scene but were going nowhere with their brand of tired boogie heavy rock, until they teamed up with Alex Harvey in August 1972 to become The Sensational Alex Harvey Band. This 1st album is a real MUST for those who like UK hardrock from the early 70s.

Tracks List :
01. That's What's Real
02. Love Story
03. Lay It On Me
04. Woman For Sale
05. I'm Glad
06. Where Is My Answer
07. Jailhouse Rock-All Shook Up
08. The First Time
09. The Temptation Of St. Anthony (Live)

Davey Batchelor - Vocals, Guitar
Zal Cleminson - Lead Guitar
Chris Glen - Bass
Eddie McKenna - Drums
Ted McKenna - Drums on Temptation
Hugh McKenna - Keyboards on Temptation
Alex Harvey - Vocals on Temptation


Moloch - Moloch (1970 us hard rock with great fuzzy guitars - flac)

Formed in Memphis in 1968 by Baker, who'd fronted local faves The Blazers, the initial line-up evolved to include drummer Durham, who'd been with The Group and The Rapscallions. Produced, written and arranged by Don Nix (ex-Mar-Keys and Paris Pilot) in Memphis, Moloch is an excellent blues rock album with some sound effects, noises and superb acid guitar solos by Lee Baker. Their single was recorded after the album with a later line-up and is extremely rare.
The genius of Lee Baker 
Lee Baker is the greatest guitarist you have never heard of. Here is your chance. Listen to Baker alternate between fuzzy,funk blues riffing,slippery slide and stinging leads. Beale Street summer of love. Moloch is a collection of notorious Memphis musicians. Blues filtered through blotter acid. The original version of "Going Down" is here. Yes, the very same song Jeff Beck/Freddie King etc covered.Before you smugly ask,yes,Baker is the equal to Beck. He's that good. Ask Jim Dickinson. Ask Alex Chilton. Smell the psycho daisies and grab this disc. (By McCarthy Salisbury)

01 Helping Hand 
02 Maverick Woman Blues 
03 Outta Hand 
04 Same Old Blues 
05 Going Down 
06 She Looks Like an Angel 
07 Gone Too Long 
08 Dance Chaney Dance 
09 Mona 
10 People Keep Talking 
11 I Can Think the Same of You 
12 Night at the Possum 

Lee Baker - Lead Guitar, Vocals
Gene Wilkins - Lead Vocals
Phillip Durham - Drums Vocals 
Fred Nicholson - Organ
Steve Spear - Bass