samedi 11 août 2018

Pacific Gas And Electric - Starring Charlie Allen (1973 us soul & funk rock - vinyl rip)

The last album of PG&E in 1973, it's more a solo album by Charlie Allen which is in fact the only original member of the group, and is accompanied by many studio musicians. The album moves away from the rock to sound more funk & soul, an area where Charlie Allen's voice is perfect ...

Charlie Allen : Lead Vocals
Jerry Friedman - Cornell Dupree - Bob Mann - Robert Mann : Guitar
Charlie Brown : Dobro, Guitar
Gordon Edwards - Wilton Felder : Bass
Ernie Hayes : Keyboards, Piano, Piano (Electric)
John Hill : Clavinet, Drums (Steel), Guitar, Handclapping, Keyboards
Jon Stroll : Clavinet, Piano
Allan Schwartzberg : Drums
Phil Bodner - Michael Brecker - Joe Grimm - Arthur Kaplan - Seldon Powell - George Young : Saxophone
Burt Collins - Al DeRisi - Mickey Gravine - Lew Soloff : Brass, Horn
Jim Maden : Tambourine, Vocals
Jimmy Maeulen : Bells, Congas, Shakuhachi, Tabla
Joshie Armstead - J.R. Bailey - Gloria Barley - Shirley Brewer - John Brown - Lou Courtney - Bill Foster - Charlotte Gilbert - Lani Groves - Carl Hall - Delores Harvin - Melvin Kent - Troy Keyes - Sherman Lewis - Jon Lucas - Ron Marshall - Barbara Massey - Ray Pollard - Albertine Robinson - Ray Rollard - Jim Ryan - Manny Seymour - Tasha Thomas - Sammy Turner - Ken Williams : Vocals
01. Gumbo Jones (Allen, Hill, Michlin) 4:43
02. Roll Georgia (Allen, Hill, Michlin) 5:16
03. Somebody You Love (Dino, Sembello) 2:49
04. Hold On (Allen, Hill, Michlin) 2:59
05. Dancin' in the Fire (Allen, Hill, Michlin) 4:49
06. Good Gospel Music (Allen, Hill, Michlin) 5:44
07. Hear the Trumpets Calling (Allen, Hill) 2:46
08. Some Kind of Feelin' (Allen, Hill, Michlin) 4:43
09. I Got a Thing About You, Baby (White) 2:37
10. Sunshine Embrace (Allen) 2:53
11. Niggers in the Woods (Allen, Hill, Michlin) 2:03


Steve Miller Blues Band - (The Matrix - San Francisco - Soundboard - 1967-01-27 - Flac)

The sound quality of this show is extremely good, is it a real stereo, with the vocals parts recorded only on one of the 2 channels, so in the instrumental parts the volume of one channel is it a little bit lower, but i did
not touch the balance of the 2 channels, i left it like the original recording was.....
1st generation reel to reel > behringer ultra curve pro deq 2496 equalizer > tascam cdrw750 > plex tool professional XL > wav > flac.
I finally located this reel to reel that i got in trade 25 years ago from a guy that copied his master reel for doubts that this is an excellent complete
sounboard recording, and probably is taken from a radio broadcast, but i don't know which is the original source....may be we should ask Dave (davmar), those are the kind of shows he may be had recorded...this is a must for a steve miller fan.... (By tillywilly)

Disc 01
01 - Worried About My Baby Too Much
02 - Mercury Blues
03 - Think
04 - Junior Saw It Happen
05 - Superbird
06 - Instrumental
07 - Instrumental
Disc 02
08 - Your Old Lady
09 - Going Down To Mexico
10 - Lovin' Wheel
11 - Instrumental Jam

Steve Miller Guitar, Vocals
Lonnie Turner Bass, Guitar
Tim Davis Drums, Vocals
James "Curly" Cooke Guitar 

James Curly Cooke -- whose middle name is sometimes spelled "Curley" and who is also often referred to as Curly Cooke -- is a great guitar player who's never quite gotten his due, despite very well-known professional collaborations with Steve Miller, Jerry Garcia, Boz Scaggs, and Ben Sidran. Cooke was part of the original Steve Miller Band, and was in the lineup that backed Chuck Berry at the Fillmore West and played at the Monterey Pop Festival. He was later replaced in Miller's group by the leader's boyhood friend Boz Scaggs, and subsequently played with Scaggs as well as returning to work with Miller on Fly Like an Eagle and other 1970s projects. He also appeared with Mother Earth on Make a Joyful Noise (1969), and worked with Garcia and Howard Wales on the Hooteroll? album in 1971. During the 1970s, he was most visible on albums by Scaggs and Sidran.